90 C Eureka Square Shopping  |  Pacifica, CA 94044  |  (650) 355-9642

Welcome to Ocean Yoga & Massage! Please take a moment to explore our site. We hope you will find everything you are looking for to increase your health and wellness.

Pilates/Garuda


This class is taught by:

Jane Gunther

Jane Gunther has been a serious student of Pilates for over 15 years. She was fortunate to have had many years of private instruction from teachers with training passed down directly from Joseph Pilates, which has provided her with a deep appreciation for the classical Pilates method. Jane’s teacher training started in Ellie Herman’s San Francisco studio (now called EHS Pilates) where she has completed the full Balanced Body University teacher training program encompassing exercises on the mat and all equipment. As a teacher, Jane tailors her classes to the needs of her students by incorporating both peel-backs and challenging versions of classical and contemporary Pilates exercises.
 
Jane discovered the practice of Garuda while seeking ways to increase the challenge of her mat classes with additional movements performed seated and standing, adding more cardiovascular and balance benefits. She has completed 100 hours of training in intimate class sizes in Garuda mat and apparatus fundamentals, seated and standing mat, and barre work with Garuda creator James D’Silva and senior trainer Erin Baker. James D’Silva is a professional dancer, yogi, and chi gong practitioner that has been the trainer for fitness conscious Madonna, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Trudi Styler.
Pilates workouts develop strength through the core of the body--the back, abdomen and hips. The concentration is not only on strength but also flexibility and coordination. The goal of Pilates is overall body fitness, elongated supple muscles, and balance between body and mind, with all the parts of a person working as a whole. Pilates provides practitioners with improved posture, increased lung capacity, and strong, sculpted muscles. Its emphasis on all around, complete fitness supports a variety of fitness goals.
Encompassing the principles of Pilates, the prana and asana of yoga and tai chi, and the great athleticism of dance, Garuda strengthens your whole core and nourishes from within. We start simple and develop into more complex movements and patterns. Garuda foundations, seated and standing movements will be utilized in our practice to further improve overall fitness. The Pilates-based core work combined with gentle twists and spirals encourages greater flexibility in the spine and creates a healthy fascia system with movements that are creative to challenge the mind and body.
 

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Apr 25 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu Apr 27 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue May 02 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu May 04 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue May 09 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu May 11 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue May 16 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu May 18 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue May 23 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu May 25 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue May 30 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu Jun 01 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue Jun 06 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu Jun 08 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue Jun 13 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu Jun 15 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue Jun 20 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu Jun 22 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Tue Jun 27 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther
  • Thu Jun 29 6:30 am - 7:30 am with Jane Gunther