90 C Eureka Square Shopping  |  Pacifica, CA 94044  |  (650) 355-9642

Welcome to Ocean Yoga & Massage! Please take a moment to explore our site. We hope you will find everything you are looking for to increase your health and wellness.

Mindful Flow with Yin


This class is taught by:

Marianne Linn

Born and raised in Germany, Marianne discovered the seeds of yoga, meditation and bodywork while traveling extensively in Asia. She has been studying and practicing yoga and meditation for over 20 years. In 1994, she was certified with the Sivananda Vedanta Yoga Society in Austria and continued her studies in the Iyengar and Astanga Vinyasa traditions, completing the teacher-training program at the Iyengar Institute in San Francisco. Marianne has been a student of Shandor Remete for over ten years and his Shadow Yoga greatly influences her practice and teaching. Her study of T'ai Chi and Qi Gong has also deepened her awareness of and connection to the presence of the universal life force energy. Marianne’s asana teachings draw from the essential elements of many great teachers such as Shandor Remete, Ana Forest, Andre Lappa, Sarah Powers, Paul Grilley, Doug Keller, S.N.Goenka and Adyashanti, as well as from her own experience as a Bodyworker and from her study of the Nature of Mind.

Marianne’s classes provide a supportive and light-hearted atmosphere where students are encouraged to learn to explore the harmonics of postural alignment and the connection between body, breath and mind. At the beginning of the month Marianne creates and offers a new vinyasa sequence, where one's focus on transitions, the "going in to" and "coming out of" a posture is as important as being in the posture. The practice becomes a meditation in motion. Marianne designs her classes with experienced beginners and intermediate level students in mind, although beginners and all sincere students are welcome. Marianne has been a certified Bodywork Practitioner since 1996. She offers Shiatsu, Therapeutic Thai Massage, Deep Tissue, Chi Nei Tsang, Prenatal Massage, and On-Site Chair Massage. Marianne is also available for Somatic Yoga Therapy and Private yoga coaching sessions.

 

 

Accessible for all levels, this class blends Mindful Flow and restorative Yin yoga into a balanced practice.
We start with a slower paced and invigorating flow sequence, moving from pose to pose by linking intentional breath with conscious movement, to develop core strength, muscle tone, balance and stamina.
The last third of the class consists of passive floor based yin poses, held in a relaxed and mindful way for 3-7 minutes. This approach promotes increased circulation along the energetic pathways, enhances range of motion throughout the body, and replenishes the parasympathetic nervous system to nourish stillness.

Upcoming classes:

  • Mon Oct 15 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Oct 17 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Oct 22 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Oct 24 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Oct 29 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Oct 31 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Nov 05 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Nov 07 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Nov 12 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Nov 14 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Nov 19 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Nov 21 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Nov 26 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Nov 28 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Dec 03 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Dec 05 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Dec 10 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Dec 12 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Mon Dec 17 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn
  • Wed Dec 19 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm with Marianne Linn